SlipperSkin For app makers
Beauty devices · FDA records

Are LED face masks FDA approved? What the FDA's own records say

We pulled the FDA record for 20 LED masks and beauty devices, from CurrentBody to Shark CryoGlow. 16 are cleared through a 510(k), none is approved, and 7 brand pages state specs that differ from their own 510(k) summary.

Figures read
23 October 2026, on makers' own pages
Next review
January 2027
Compiled and verified by
Vincent Wesley Couey ORCID
Published
23 October 2026

SlipperSkin finding

Of 20 LED masks and beauty devices checked against FDA records on 23 October 2026, 16 have a 510(k) clearance, none has PMA approval, and 7 brand pages state specs that differ from their own 510(k) summary; Medicube's AGE-R is listed as a Class I massager with no 510(k).

Records read from openFDA and the FDA-hosted 510(k) summaries; brand pages linked in the table.

Are LED face masks FDA approved?

No, and that is normal: the ones that went through the FDA are cleared, not approved. Home LED masks for wrinkles and acne are Class II devices, which reach the market through a 510(k): the maker shows the FDA its device is substantially equivalent to one already on the market. Approval is a different route, premarket approval (PMA), for high-risk Class III devices. openFDA lists 163 clearances under the wrinkle code OHS and 51 under the acne code OLP, and no PMA under either.

In short:

  1. "FDA cleared" is real and meaningful: the FDA reviewed a 510(k) and found the device substantially equivalent for a stated indication.
  2. "FDA approved" is the wrong word for these devices. FDA rule 21 CFR 807.97 says a clearance "does not in any way denote official approval".
  3. Check the K-number: 16 of our 20 have one, but 3 of those are clearances that do not name the model on sale.
  4. Read the indication: wrinkles, acne or topical heating. Claims beyond those are the brand's, not the FDA's.
Listed, cleared, approvedthe FDA pathway, with our 20 devices sorted into it
The FDA device pathway. Registration and listing, Class I, no premarket review: 1 of our 20. 510(k) clearance, Class II, substantially equivalent to a predicate: 16 of 20. PMA approval, Class III: 0 of 20. 3 had no FDA record naming them. openFDA counts 163 OHS, 51 OLP and 82 NFO 510(k) records and no PMA under those codes.more evidence the maker must show FDA, left to rightRegistration and listingClass I, e.g. ISA massagerNo premarket review"does not denote approval"1of our 20 listed only510(k) clearanceClass II, e.g. OHS, OLP, NFOSubstantially equivalentto a predicate device16of our 20 have a 510(k)PMA approvalClass III, high riskSafety and effectivenessshown to FDA0of our 20 approved3 more: no FDA record found naming them. FDA totals: OHS 163, OLP 51, NFO 82 clearances, 0 PMA
Pathway from the FDA consumer update "Is It Really FDA Approved?" and FDA's cleared-device guide; counts from openFDA, read 23 October 2026.

What is the difference between FDA cleared and FDA approved?

Approval means the maker proved safety and effectiveness to the FDA; clearance means it proved substantial equivalence to an existing device. The FDA's consumer update puts it in three tiers: the highest-risk devices "generally require FDA approval of a premarket approval application"; moderate-risk devices are marketed through so-called "510(k) clearance"; and "Mere registration of an establishment or listing of a drug or device does not denote approval". Every clearance letter in this table also reminds the maker that "device labeling must be truthful and not misleading", and points to 21 CFR 807.97, under which a representation that creates "an impression of official approval" because of a 510(k) is misbranding.

So the fair reading is this. A clearance is not a rubber stamp: the maker filed bench, electrical and often clinical data, and the FDA agreed the device belongs with its predicate for a specific use. It is simply not an approval, and it covers only the indication on the letter.

What do the FDA records say about each mask?

Thirteen of the 20 devices are named in a 510(k) or in its listing, three sit under a clearance that does not name the model on sale, three had no FDA record naming them, and one is listed as Class I with no 510(k). The table puts the FDA's figures beside the brand's, so you can see where they agree, which is most of the time.

20 beauty devices: the FDA's record against the brand's own page, read 23 October 2026. K-numbers link to the FDA record; device names link to the brand page.
DeviceFDA statusK-number, date, codeCleared indication510(k) summary: nm, LEDs, minBrand page: nm, LEDs, minDiffers
CurrentBody Series 1510(k), model not namedK221946, 2022-11-22, OHSfull-face wrinkles630, 830; 132; 10633, 830; 132; 10none found
summary describes model MK66R-B; listing names "Currentbody"
CurrentBody Series 2510(k), names itK250966, 2025-06-25, OHSfull-face wrinkles633, 830; 220; 10633, 830, 1072; 236; 10236 LEDs vs 220; adds 1072 nm
listing places "Series 2" under K221946
CurrentBody Series 3510(k), names itK260715, 2026-06-03, OHSwrinkles (Mode 3), inflammatory acne (Mode 2), topical heating (Mode 1)415, 532, 590, 633, 830, 1072; 566; n/s415, 532, 590, 633, 830, 1072; 750; 10750 LED bulbs vs 566
532 nm is "for user comfort and relaxation purposes only"
Omnilux Contour Face510(k), names itK191629, 2019-09-12, OHSfull-face wrinkles630, 830; n/s; 10633, 830; 132; 10none found
cleared as "faceLITE"; listing names Omnilux Contour
DRx FaceWare Prono record foundK183247 (closest), 2019-03-14, OHSclosest record: wrinkles and mild to moderate inflammatory acne415, 605, 630, 660, 880; n/s; 3415, 605, 630, 880; 160; 3none found
page says FDA-cleared; no record names it; closest is dpl Faceware
Shark CryoGlow510(k), names itK242796, 2024-11-27, OHSfine lines and wrinkles; mild to moderate inflammatory acne415, 630, 830; 480; n/snot stated; n/s; 8none found
page gives no nm or LED count to compare
TheraFace Mask510(k), names itK230293, 2023-06-09, OHSfull-face wrinkles (red); mild to moderate inflammatory acne (blue)415, 633, 830; 648; n/s415, 633, 830; 648; 9none found
TheraFace Mask Glo510(k), names itK230293, 2023-06-09, OHSas TheraFace Mask (same listing)415, 633, 830; 648; n/snot stated; 504; n/s504 LEDs vs 648
listed under the TheraFace Mask clearance
Solawave Wrinkle Retreat Pro510(k), model not namedK221775, 2022-12-20, OHSfull-face wrinkles (acne for some models)415, 630, 830; n/s; 10605, 630, 660, 830; 320; 3605 and 660 nm; 3 min vs 10
listing names "Wrinkle Retreat", not "Pro"; no K-number on the page
Solawave wand510(k), names itK232863, 2023-12-13, OHStreating wrinkles on the face630; n/s; 3630; 14; 3none found
listing names "Solawave 4-in-1 Skincare Wand"
Silk'n LED Face Mask 100510(k), names itK223544, 2023-02-23, OHSfull-face wrinkles (red); inflammatory acne (blue); topical heating (infrared)460, 620, 850; n/s; 15460, 620, 850; 100; 1028.5 vs 9 to 12 mW/cm²; mode times swapped
summary: manual 15 min, automatic 10; page: manual 10, automatic 15
Hooga Luma510(k), model not namedK253712, 2026-01-23, OHSfull-face wrinkles; inflammatory acne; topical heating465, 630, 850; n/s; 10465, 525, 630, 850; 280; 5adds 525 nm (disclosed); 5 min vs 10
Hooga cites the K-number; listing names Dreame and generic masks
Hooga original maskno record foundnoneno FDA claim maden/a630, 660, 850; 66; 5none found
sold without an FDA claim
LightStim for Wrinkles510(k), names itK261482, 2026-07-31, OHSfull-face wrinkles605, 640, 652, 850; n/s; 3605, 640, 652, 850; n/s; 3none found
handheld; 3 minutes per area
HigherDOSE mask510(k), names itK241933, 2024-09-27, OHSfull-face wrinkles630, 830; n/s; 10630, 830; 132; 2026/24 vs 20/30 mW/cm²; 20-min option
both total 50 mW/cm²
Qure Q-Rejuvalight Pro510(k), names itK230042, 2023-04-28, OHSwrinkles and mild to moderate inflammatory acne415, 605, 630, 660, 880; n/s; 3415, 605, 630, 660, 880; n/s; 3none found
MZ Skin LightMAX 2.0510(k), names itK213184, 2021-11-23, OLPmild to moderate acne vulgaris; wrinkles415, 630, 830; n/s; 10415, 633, 830; n/s; 10none found
page: "one of the few FDA-cleared LED face masks"
Angela Caglia Crystal510(k), names itK202390, 2021-07-14, OHSwrinkles and/or mild to moderate acnen/anot statednone found
listed under the Aduro clearance; not on the brand store today
FOREO UFO 3 LEDno record foundnoneno record found under FOREOn/anot statednone found
page: "Clinically proven to reduce wrinkles"; no FDA wording
Medicube AGE-R Booster Pro X2Class I listing onlyISAClass I massager listing, no 510(k)n/anot statednone found
page makes no FDA claim

Two patterns explain most of the gaps. First, masks are often made by an OEM that holds the clearance and lists many brands under it: in the FDA's listing database, K221775 carries 40 product names (Solawave Wrinkle Retreat, Bon Charge), K191629 carries 24 product names (Omnilux Contour, ELEMIS), K202390 carries 20 product names (Angela Caglia, Project E). That is legal and common, and it is why a brand's name may not appear on the 510(k) itself. Second, hardware moves faster than paperwork. A page that lists more LEDs or an extra wavelength may describe a newer version than the summary does, which is why we say "differs from", not "wrong". Scale matters for marketing lines too: MZ Skin's page calls its mask "one of the few FDA-cleared LED face masks", while openFDA lists 163 clearances under the wrinkle code alone, not all of them masks; its own clearance, K213184, is real.

Where do brand pages differ from their own 510(k) summary?

On seven of the 20: CurrentBody Series 2, CurrentBody Series 3, TheraFace Mask Glo, Solawave Wrinkle Retreat Pro, Silk'n LED Face Mask 100, Hooga Luma and HigherDOSE mask. The differences are in wavelengths, LED counts, power and session length. Some favour the brand's reader: Hooga's page says outright that its 525 nm green mode "is not part of the FDA-cleared indications", the most candid line we found. And one gap closes on inspection: Silk'n's spec block lists both 10 and 15 minutes because it has two modes, as does its summary, though the page pairs them the other way round.

Wavelengths: the record and the page14 devices with both, read 23 October 2026
Wavelengths in each 510(k) summary versus the brand page. CurrentBody Series 1: summary 630, 830 nm; page 633, 830 nm. CurrentBody Series 2: summary 633, 830 nm; page 633, 830, 1072 nm; not in the summary: 1072 nm. CurrentBody Series 3: summary 415, 532, 590, 633, 830, 1072 nm; page 415, 532, 590, 633, 830, 1072 nm. Omnilux Contour Face: summary 630, 830 nm; page 633, 830 nm. DRx FaceWare Pro: summary 415, 605, 630, 660, 880 nm; page 415, 605, 630, 880 nm. TheraFace Mask: summary 415, 633, 830 nm; page 415, 633, 830 nm. Solawave Wrinkle Retreat Pro: summary 415, 630, 830 nm; page 605, 630, 660, 830 nm; not in the summary: 605, 660 nm. Solawave wand: summary 630 nm; page 630 nm. Silk'n LED Face Mask 100: summary 460, 620, 850 nm; page 460, 620, 850 nm. Hooga Luma: summary 465, 630, 850 nm; page 465, 525, 630, 850 nm; not in the summary: 525 nm. LightStim for Wrinkles: summary 605, 640, 652, 850 nm; page 605, 640, 652, 850 nm. HigherDOSE mask: summary 630, 830 nm; page 630, 830 nm. Qure Q-Rejuvalight Pro: summary 415, 605, 630, 660, 880 nm; page 415, 605, 630, 660, 880 nm. MZ Skin LightMAX 2.0: summary 415, 630, 830 nm; page 415, 633, 830 nm. DRx FaceWare Pro is compared with its closest record, K183247.40050060070080090010001100CurrentBody Series 1CurrentBody Series 2CurrentBody Series 3Omnilux Contour FaceDRx FaceWare ProTheraFace MaskSolawave Wrinkle Retreat ProSolawave wandSilk'n LED Face Mask 100Hooga LumaLightStim for WrinklesHigherDOSE maskQure Q-Rejuvalight ProMZ Skin LightMAX 2.0wavelength, nm (upper row: 510(k) summary; lower row: brand page)
Wavelengths on a page that are missing from its summary: CurrentBody Series 2 1072 nm; Solawave Wrinkle Retreat Pro 605 and 660 nm; Hooga Luma 525 nm. DRx FaceWare Pro is shown against its closest record, K183247, since no record names it; it lists 660 nm there and not on the page.
LEDs, power and minutes11 of 16 figures differ
Brand page figures against the 510(k) summary. CurrentBody Series 3, LEDs: summary 566, page 750, 1.33 times. CurrentBody Series 2, LEDs: summary 220, page 236, 1.07 times. TheraFace Mask Glo, LEDs: summary 648, page 504, 0.78 times. TheraFace Mask, LEDs: summary 648, page 648, 1 times. CurrentBody Series 1, LEDs: summary 132, page 132, 1 times. HigherDOSE, red mW/cm²: summary 20, page 26, 1.3 times. HigherDOSE, NIR mW/cm²: summary 30, page 24, 0.8 times. HigherDOSE, total mW/cm²: summary 50, page 50, 1 times. Silk'n, mW/cm²: summary 12, page 28.5 (summary 9 to 12 (mixed light)), 2.38 times. HigherDOSE, longest session, min: summary 10, page 20, 2 times. Silk'n, manual mode, min: summary 15, page 10, 0.67 times. Silk'n, automatic mode, min: summary 10, page 15, 1.5 times. Solawave WR Pro, session, min: summary 10, page 3, 0.3 times. Hooga Luma, session, min: summary 10, page 5, 0.5 times. Omnilux Contour, session, min: summary 10, page 10, 1 times. Qure, session, min: summary 3, page 3, 1 times0.25x0.5xsame2x4xCurrentBody Series 3: LEDs566 to 750CurrentBody Series 2: LEDs220 to 236TheraFace Mask Glo: LEDs648 to 504TheraFace Mask: LEDs648 to 648CurrentBody Series 1: LEDs132 to 132HigherDOSE: red mW/cm²20 to 26HigherDOSE: NIR mW/cm²30 to 24HigherDOSE: total mW/cm²50 to 50Silk'n: mW/cm²12 to 28.5HigherDOSE: longest session, min10 to 20Silk'n: manual mode, min15 to 10Silk'n: automatic mode, min10 to 15Solawave WR Pro: session, min10 to 3Hooga Luma: session, min10 to 5Omnilux Contour: session, min10 to 10Qure: session, min3 to 3brand page figure as a multiple of the 510(k) summary figure
HigherDOSE's total, 50 mW/cm², matches its summary; the split between red and infrared does not. Silk'n's 28.5 mW/cm² is measured at 0.5 mm on its page; its summary gives 9 to 12 mW/cm² for mixed light without a distance in the row we read.

Which beauty devices have no 510(k)?

Three had no FDA record naming them, and one is listed as a Class I device. Dr. Dennis Gross's FaceWare Pro page says "This device is FDA Cleared!", but no 510(k) or listing names it; the closest record is LED Technologies' "dpl Faceware" (K183247), and the brand may know the number we could not find. FOREO's UFO 3 LED page says it is "Clinically proven to reduce wrinkles" without FDA wording, and we found no FOREO clearance for it, though FOREO does hold OHS clearances for other devices. Hooga's original mask makes no FDA claim at all, which is the honest way to sell one. Medicube's AGE-R Booster Pro range is listed under product code ISA, "Massager, Therapeutic, Electric", Class I, with no K-number; its page makes no FDA claim either.

The microcurrent side of the aisle is mostly cleared under code NFO; see the best microcurrent device for those records, and the best LED face mask for prices.

How do you check an LED mask yourself?

Find the K-number, open the record, read the indication, then compare the summary to the box. It takes five minutes on the FDA's 510(k) database, and the summary PDF is linked from each record.

Check it yourselffive steps, with the usual snags
Checking an LED mask yourself. 1. Does the page name a K-number? If not, search the 510(k) database by brand. 2. Open the record (pmn.cfm) Is this brand or model named?. 3. Read the indication Wrinkles? Acne? Heating?. 4. Open the 510(k) summary PDF Compare wavelengths, LEDs, minutes. 5. They match: a cleared device Cleared for that indication only. Side branches: No K found? Try Registration and Listing. A listing is not a clearance.. Another name on it? Common: one maker clears a design that many brands sell.. Claim beyond it? Firming, glow, lift are not in an OHS indication.. They differ? Ask the maker which K covers this version. It may be newer.1. Does the page name a K-number?If not, search the 510(k) database by brandNo K found?Try Registration and Listing.A listing is not a clearance.2. Open the record (pmn.cfm)Is this brand or model named?Another name on it?Common: one maker clears adesign that many brands sell.3. Read the indicationWrinkles? Acne? Heating?Claim beyond it?Firming, glow, lift arenot in an OHS indication.4. Open the 510(k) summary PDFCompare wavelengths, LEDs, minutesThey differ?Ask the maker which K coversthis version. It may be newer.5. They match: a cleared deviceCleared for that indication only
If nothing turns up, the FDA's Registration and Listing database shows which firm lists the product and under what code; a listing alone is not a clearance.
Checking an "FDA" beauty device: six steps
1. Look for the word: "cleared" is the usual one.
   "Approved" would mean a PMA. We found none.
2. Find the K-number (K + six digits). Search
   accessdata.fda.gov 510(k) by brand if needed.
3. Open the record: is your brand or model named?
   One maker's clearance often covers many brands.
4. Read the indication: wrinkles, acne, heating.
   Nothing else is cleared.
5. Open the 510(k) summary PDF. Compare
   wavelengths, LED count and session minutes.
6. If they differ, ask the brand which K-number
   covers the version on sale.

What should each reader take from this?

Choosing an app instead of a device? Start with how accurate AI skin analysis apps are, and see which device apps collect what in LED mask apps compared.

How we compiled this

Method

On 23 October 2026 we queried openFDA's 510(k), PMA, classification and registration and listing endpoints (data last updated 12 October 2026) for every brand and model named here, downloaded each FDA-hosted 510(k) summary PDF and read the subject-device column of its comparison table. Where a summary gives two values for one spec, we say so. Brand pages were read the same day. Several Shopify stores refused automated reads (HTTP 429) on the first pass and were read on retry the same day. "Differs" means a stated page figure is outside the summary's figure or tolerance; it is not a finding that a page is false, and a summary can predate the hardware on sale. Nothing here is a verdict on whether any device works or is safe.

Skin routine kit

What to buy alongside a light device

Broad-spectrum SPF 30+Daily sun protection pairs with any light or active-ingredient routine.SPF 30 or higherView on Amazon → Gentle fragrance-free cleanserStart device sessions on clean, dry skin.Fragrance-freeView on Amazon → Ceramide moisturizersBarrier support if your skin feels dry or tight.Barrier careView on Amazon → Soft hair bandsKeep hair off the face during a session.Hair off the faceView on Amazon →

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

FAQ

Are any LED face masks FDA approved?

None that we found. Of 20 devices checked on 23 October 2026, 16 have a 510(k) clearance and none has premarket approval (PMA). openFDA shows no PMA under the wrinkle (OHS) or acne (OLP) codes. "Cleared" is the accurate word.

What does FDA cleared mean for an LED mask?

The maker filed a 510(k) and the FDA found the mask substantially equivalent to a device already on the market, for a stated indication such as full-face wrinkles or mild to moderate inflammatory acne. It is a real review, but not an approval, and it covers only that indication.

How do I find an LED mask on the FDA database?

Look for a K-number on the page or box and enter it in the FDA 510(k) database at accessdata.fda.gov. If there is none, search by brand; if that fails, the Registration and Listing database shows which clearance a brand name is listed under.

Why is a different company named on my mask's 510(k)?

Because many masks are made by an OEM that holds the clearance. In the FDA's listing data, K221775 carries 40 product names and K191629 carries 24, including Omnilux Contour. A brand can lawfully sell under the maker's clearance.

Is the Medicube AGE-R FDA cleared?

We found no 510(k). The FDA listing places the AGE-R Booster Pro range under product code ISA, "Massager, Therapeutic, Electric", a Class I code, with no K-number. Medicube's own page makes no FDA claim.

Is Shark CryoGlow FDA cleared?

Yes. K242796, decided 27 November 2024 to SharkNinja, covers fine lines and wrinkles and mild to moderate inflammatory acne. Its summary lists 415, 630 and 830 nm and 480 LEDs; the Shark page gives session times but no wavelengths.

Bottom line

LED masks are cleared, not approved, and most of the ones checked here are cleared for exactly what they say. Find the K-number, read the indication, and if the box does not match the summary, ask the brand which clearance covers the version you are buying.

Related on SlipperSkin

RoundupBest LED face maskPrices, cleared indications and price per LED, computed.RoundupBest microcurrent deviceNuFACE, ZIIP, FOREO and what each clearance says.AccuracyHow accurate are AI skin analysis apps?What independent tests found when apps read skin.
☆ Save
Dashboard