Sephora's clean list names 47 ingredient categories; Ulta's prints 23 it is made without and 14 it only limits. On the 21 products both retailers sell, the seals agreed on 14, and all 7 disagreements went the same way.
SlipperSkin finding
Read on 23 October 2026, Sephora and Ulta gave the same clean verdict on 14 of 21 products both sell; all 7 disagreements were Ulta "Clean Ingredients" without "Clean at Sephora". Sephora bans 7 shared categories that Ulta only limits, petrolatum among them.
Sephora's list is longer and stricter; Ulta's covers more of the drugstore shelf:
Sephora bans 37 of its 47 categories outright and restricts the other 10. Its Clean + Planet Aware page calls Clean at Sephora "our curation of brands with effective formulas" that "avoid certain ingredients, such as parabens, sulfates, phthalates, and mineral oils", and says products "might contain both natural and synthetic chemicals". The full list sits in a FAQ modal with 48 rows (acrylates appears twice, once prohibited and once restricted) and a separate packaging list with 31 December 2025 deadlines. No publication date is printed on it.
Ulta's Conscious Beauty programme has five pillars, and Clean Ingredients is the one that "Excludes parabens, phthalates, and other ingredients on our Made Without List". Ulta says "every brand certified as having Clean Ingredients complies" with that list, and names Novi as the partner that verifies it. The Made Without page has three tiers: 23 entries made without, 14 limited use, and 16 "other ingredients you might be wondering about". It is unusually candid about scope: it does not guarantee "100% free from", and testing for trace contaminants is "not the intention" of the programme.
On 8 of the 38 shared categories, and mostly in Sephora's direction. Sephora prohibits seven that Ulta allows with a limit, a grade or a narrower scope: Aluminum salts (soluble); Ethanolamines; Ethylene oxide; Retinyl palmitate; Cyclic silicones (D4, D5, D6); BHT; Mineral oil, petrolatum, paraffin. Petrolatum is the clearest case: prohibited at Sephora, allowed at Ulta if it is USP, NF or Ph. Eur grade. The one category where Ulta reads stricter (Acrylamide and polyacrylamide) is a difference of scope: Ulta lists the contaminant as not intentionally added, while Sephora sets EU impurity limits for it. Fragrance is limited at both.
| Category | Clean at Sephora | Ulta Clean Ingredients | Stricter |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aluminum salts (soluble) | prohibited | Aluminum salts and complexes (limited use) | Sephora |
| Ethanolamines | prohibited | TEA (2.5% or less) (limited use); DEA and MEA (not intentionally added) | Sephora |
| Ethylene oxide | prohibited | Ethoxylated ingredients (PEGs, polysorbates) (limited use) | Sephora |
| Retinyl palmitate | prohibited | Retinol and esters (limited use) | Sephora |
| Cyclic silicones (D4, D5, D6) | prohibited | Cyclotetrasiloxane (D4) (made without) (D4 only) | Sephora |
| BHT | prohibited | BHT (0.05% or less) (limited use) | Sephora |
| Mineral oil, petrolatum, paraffin | prohibited | Mineral oil, paraffin, petrolatum (USP grade) (limited use) | Sephora |
| Acrylamide and polyacrylamide | restricted | Acrylamide (not intentionally added) | Ulta |
| Phenoxyethanol (1% or less) | restricted | Phenoxyethanol (1% or below) (not added, with a limit) | both limit |
| Talc (no asbestos detected) | restricted | Talc (limited use) | both limit |
| Synthetic fragrance (under 1%) | restricted | Fragrances (IFRA and EU rules) (limited use) | both limit |
| 1,4-Dioxane (limits) | restricted | 1,4-Dioxane (limits) (not added, with a limit) | both limit |
| Other heavy metals (limits) | restricted | Heavy metals (limits) (not added, with a limit) | both limit |
| Fragrance (full list applies) | restricted | Fragrances (IFRA and EU rules) (limited use) | both limit |
| Nanomaterials | restricted | Nanomaterials (limited use) | both limit |
| Carbon black | restricted | Carbon black (limited use) | both limit |
On 14 of 21 products sold at both: 6 carry both seals and 8 carry neither. The other 7 are clean at Ulta and not at Sephora, and none went the other way. That direction fits the lists, since Sephora bans more, and it fits how each label is granted: Ulta certifies a brand, while Sephora's seal sits on the product and even the size. Drunk Elephant shows both: Protini carries both seals, B-Hydra carries only Ulta's, and Sunday Riley Good Genes carries Sephora's seal on 3 of its 4 sizes. Which ingredient keeps each product off Sephora's list is not shown on either page, so we do not guess it.
| Product | Clean at Sephora | Ulta Clean Ingredients |
|---|---|---|
| Drunk Elephant Protini | seal (5/5) | seal |
| The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% | no seal | seal |
| Supergoop Unseen SPF 50 | no seal | no seal |
| Fenty Pro Filt'r Foundation | no seal | no seal |
| NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer | no seal | seal |
| Clinique Moisture Surge 100H | no seal | no seal |
| Tatcha The Water Cream | seal (5/5) | seal |
| Rare Beauty Soft Pinch Blush | no seal | no seal |
| Too Faced Better Than Sex | no seal | no seal |
| Benefit Precisely, My Brow | no seal | no seal |
| Urban Decay All Nighter Spray | no seal | no seal |
| Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream | no seal | seal |
| Clinique Dramatically Different | no seal | no seal |
| Sol de Janeiro Bum Bum Cream | no seal | seal |
| First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair | seal (4/4) | seal |
| Drunk Elephant B-Hydra | no seal | seal |
| ILIA Super Serum Skin Tint | seal (30/30) | seal |
| Milk Makeup Hydro Grip Primer | seal (3/3) | seal |
| Sunday Riley Good Genes | seal (3/4) | seal |
| Moroccanoil Treatment | no seal | seal |
| Benefit Hoola Matte Bronzer | no seal | seal |
Not reliably, because they answer different questions. Six products from our 20-product database study carry a retailer clean seal. Three of the six sit in EWG Skin Deep's moderate band (3 to 6). Neutrogena Hydro Boost carries Ulta's mark while four of five databases say it is not fragrance-free, which Ulta's own rules allow: fragrance is limited use there, not banned. Only The Ordinary Niacinamide and COSRX Snail 96 Essence come back clean on all four databases as well.
The study also shows a gap in the other direction. In the study read 21 October 2026, EWG's ingredient list for CeraVe Hydrating Facial Cleanser included a paraben, which Ulta's pillar prohibits; either EWG holds an older formula or a different listing, and we have not resolved which. Databases holding old formulas is the pattern the study found across the board.
Credo's list reaches furthest on paper; Target's list is not published where we could read it. Credo's ingredient requirements, updated June 2026, prohibit petrolatum and mineral oil, PEGs and EDTA, restrict phenoxyethanol to 1.0%, and say the document "is not an exhaustive list". Its overview says the Dirty List "includes over 3,000 ingredients", a count of individual substances rather than categories, so it does not compare directly with Sephora's 47. On fragrance, Credo requires brands to categorise it and only encourages full disclosure. Target's launch article of 15 July 2019 described Target Clean as "formulated without a group of commonly unwanted chemicals", named phthalates, propyl-parabens, butyl-parabens and SLES, and counted nearly 4,000 qualifying products; its clean beauty category page returned "not found" on 23 October 2026, so we have no current list to compare.
| Label | Size of list | Petrolatum and mineral oil | Fragrance | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clean at Sephora | 47 categories | Prohibited | Restricted: synthetic fragrance under 1%, IFRA standards | No date printed |
| Ulta Clean Ingredients | 23 made without, 14 limited use, 16 other | Allowed if USP, NF or Ph. Eur grade | Limited use: IFRA standards and EU rules | No date printed |
| Credo Clean Standard | "over 3,000 ingredients" (overview) | Prohibited | Brands must categorise it; full disclosure encouraged | Updated June 2026 |
| Target Clean | Not published on a current Target page | Not stated in the 2019 article | Not stated in the 2019 article | Launch article, 15 July 2019 |
1. Which list? Sephora's names 47 categories, Ulta's 23 plus 14 limited. Same word, two rules. 2. Brand or product? Ulta certifies the brand; Sephora's seal can differ by product, even by size. 3. Fragrance: neither seal means fragrance-free. Read the ingredient list for "fragrance" or "parfum". 4. Petrolatum: banned at Sephora, allowed at Ulta if pharmaceutical grade, prohibited at Credo. 5. Contaminants: Ulta says it does not test for them; no seal is a safety or irritation verdict.
Both definitions were read on the retailers' own pages on 23 October 2026. Ulta's pages and product pages answer ordinary web requests; Sephora's refuse them (HTTP 403), so Sephora's list and product pages were read in a normal browser the same morning, from each product's own page data and highlights. The products are the study products plus widely sold items from both shelves. Each Sephora category was matched by hand to the Ulta entries naming the same substance; the matching, the tier of every entry and the rule are in this page's source and drive every count above. Seals can change with a reformulation or a new list, so every value is dated.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Read on 23 October 2026, Sephora's list names 47 ingredient categories; Ulta's prints 23 it is made without, 14 it only limits and 16 its brands say they do not add. 38 categories are on both. Sephora is stricter on 7 of them, including petrolatum and mineral oil.
It depends on the label. Clean at Sephora prohibits mineral oil, petrolatum and paraffin. Ulta's Clean Ingredients allows them if they are USP, NF or Ph. Eur grade. Credo's June 2026 requirements prohibit them.
No. Sephora restricts synthetic fragrance to under 1% of the formula and requires IFRA standards; Ulta lists fragrance as limited use under IFRA and EU rules; Credo requires brands to categorise fragrance. Check the ingredient list for "fragrance" or "parfum".
Because Sephora bans more and grants its seal product by product, while Ulta certifies brands. Of 21 products sold at both on 23 October 2026, 7 were clean at Ulta only, among them The Ordinary Niacinamide and Drunk Elephant B-Hydra. Neither retailer shows which ingredient decides it.
No seal claims that. These are lists of excluded or limited ingredients, not assessments of dose, irritation or allergy, and Ulta says its programme does not test for trace contaminants or guarantee "100% free from". SlipperSkin reports what each label says and does not issue its own safety verdict.
Credo's requirements, updated June 2026, are stricter on paper: they also prohibit PEGs, EDTA and petrolatum, and its Dirty List counts over 3,000 individual ingredients. Target Clean's only page we could read is its July 2019 launch article; no current full list was published on a Target page.
Clean at Sephora and Ulta's Clean Ingredients share most of their core, from parabens to phthalates, but Sephora's list is longer and bans several things Ulta only limits. That is why every product we found with a split seal was clean at Ulta and not at Sephora. Treat either seal as a filter for the ingredients you want to avoid, not as a verdict on fragrance, irritation or safety.